Sorry for these teething troubles

Had a feeling it might happen. Below is how I have comments set:

wpdotcom settings

As you see, it’s as open as I can set it, with no registration etc. Therefore I’m puzzled why WP are asking people for passwords etc. Unless they have just overridden settings and insist anyone who comments must be in WordPress, which would be outrageous.

I mean, I know they’re greedy for money in the themes on offer but didn’t think they’d do this to commenters. Trouble is, I currently have no other real choice but go to Blogger, which has its own terrible comments policy.

UPDATE

OK, think I have it.   I logged out and came into this post as a stranger.   However, when I put in James Higham and my email, it immediately took me to the log-in page for WordPress because it recognized my email and name.

I’d imagine that if you were in WP dotorg, you’d have a log-in over there.   WPdotcom would recognize that and ask you to log-in but they are dotcom, not dotorg.   Most dotorgs also have a dotcom because the Akismet needs an API key which resides at dotcom.

So you have the prospect of being asked to log-in to a dotcom but you only have a dotorg log-in.  Nightmare.   The way round it is to change either your name or email or both.

That gets you into moderation but I’d still have to recognize something about you I’d trust.

I did this here:

teething troubles

… and it let me in.   Harry R would have to do better than that to be first time approved though.

9 responses to “Sorry for these teething troubles

  1. fffffff

  2. OK i’ll try this standby e-mail and see what happens. I have A/Cs on both the com and org so that would have been the problem.

  3. WordPress.com did something weird many months ago, that required logging in to comment if you had a WordPress account. Prior to that I could comment on WordPress.com sites without logging in by just typing my details into the form fields.

    I think it is the email address that is key. If you use an email address that is associated with a WordPress account, it requires you to log in.

    I could test out that theory by using a fictitious email address…

  4. No need, Cherie – “Harry R” did that and you’re right. Ivan – if you have both those PWs, then why did it stop you getting in? I noticed you’re in now though.

  5. Was asked to log in, then whatever combination I tried was refused, re registered using same email and username accepted ?

  6. I think the problem with having passwords for both is that it takes longer to work out that they are valid than the ‘no response’ time set by the browser so the message never gets posted.

  7. Yes, it’s not completely right and I’m also watching the space allocation – there’s about a year of blogging on this site. It’s for newbies, WPdotcom.

  8. James, your piece today re ‘no comments’.
    There would appear to be several blogs having the same problems at this time e.g Counting Cats, and there are several that have been extremely variable as to access, something up on a wider front ?

  9. There’s going to be a statement this evening here. Nothing grandiose, just the sum total of this afternoon’s investigation. It’s not right just now and there might be a dozen reasons – we have to test each one.