Of Hutber’s law, cock-ups and conspiracies

JD responds to the ongoing saga:

Modern technology has begun to eat itself – Hutber’s Law is now compulsory! 🙂

On the other hand……… I mentioned previously about ‘control’ and the best way to achieve that is by spreading confusion and making life as complicated as possible.

Don’t know if you have seen it but Twilight has this on the subject –

http://twilightstarsong.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/netting-net.html

All very interesting and with WordPress deciding to be a nuisance one has to wonder what and why; is it just cock-up outranking conspiracy?    Or is cock-up a deliberate ploy? It’s easier to induce given the decline of education over the years.

[And they fail] to explain it clearly and they [also send] lots of conflicting and confusing ‘best deals’ plus my computer here needs a decoke!

I know just how Mr Plant feels-

Significant from Twilight for me was:

The appeals court ruling isn’t about internet access as such, but about the ability of internet service providers to take control of access to content, and it’s all about the money, as usual, of course.

My reading of it is that we have:

  1. Some top driven execs pushing an “Information awareness” type thing, which is basically a Demos ploy and that is global in scope, with DARPA, SRI Int and various others providing the tech and some puppet to sell it to the masses. Variations on this theme anyway.
  2. The good old corporate wars with firms getting the edge on the competitor at all costs and to hell with the consumer – we can package it up to make it appear you absolutely have to have this “development” [Hutber’s law].

  3. A whole load of “recent grads” from university, clutching their bit of paper and entering Shoreditch, Silicon Valley etc.to get their five minutes in the sun with some app or other, seconded by the nasty firms and they jump through hoops to gain brownie points. As people though, they are a bit lacking.

  4. In this mad drive for progress or bust, as Chuckles and Chrysalis indicated, non-nefarious things are appearing – bad patches, carelessness or even lack of thought in the design requiring lesser quality fixes and anyone with an older/lesser system gets shafted. Previous protection only transfers if you transfer and upgrade. You are now unsupported and therefore prey.

That above is a swirling mix of intention and cock-up, resulting in mess but we are caught in the mess.

6 responses to “Of Hutber’s law, cock-ups and conspiracies

  1. The blank bits were references to BT by the way. Leave them in there, let everyone know what scoundrels their marketing morons are! 🙂
    And another thing – why have I got a wide band across the bottom of the screen with Nourishing Obscurity written on it?
    Another WordPress ‘improvement’ to enhance my ‘login experience’ ?
    (Login experience being one of BT’s trendy new and meaningless buzzwords)

  2. @JD re the “Floating Footers” – Apparently this a downside of using the “free” WordPress platform. From what I’ve found it can be removed by the blog administrator (although I suspect he’s got better things to deal with at the moment), or you can employ an add blocker if you have a suitable browser. Here are 2 links with more info (Caution – the first is rather blunt with his opinions!)

    http://tinyurl.com/o8ka482

    http://www.wlug.net/563/remove-encrypted-footer-links-wordpress-themes/

    I’ve a feeling that I blocked these annoyances with a Hosts File entry, but I can’t rememeber when or how…..

  3. OK, I looked at this:

    http://www.wlug.net/563/remove-encrypted-footer-links-wordpress-themes/

    … but it refers, I think, to payWP free themes. I can get in there with no trouble and remove the pop-up but not on the freeWP. They don’t let you at the design/template in the menu on freeWP.

    On my computer, this pop -up is about 5mm wide, so not a broad band and it says the site name on the left and the attribution on the right. It doesn’t always pop-up but sometimes does.

  4. I added some extra subscriptions to Adblock Edge but the footer still appears as soon as I scroll a little way down the page – if I go back to the top it disappears. I then noticed that hovering the mouse over the words “nourishing obscurity ” on the left hand side shows the site URL, but also a pop-up with the words “Scroll back to top” Click on that and yes, the page jumps back to the top. If I right click on it and select “Inspect Element” what looks like a relevant bit of code appears:

    Not being familiar with HTML I can’t offer any solution, but perhaps you will understand this, James?

  5. I fear the copied HTML in my last comment may have screwed things up – lets see if this plain text one works…

  6. I have never seen a floating footer in WordPress… But in my browser I have ticked the option to stop up pop up ads. So that may account for that.