Build report

1k-daz-newtonDSC06768

For those interested and who’ve been wondering about the build situation, it’s fourfold – other things laid on me, the weather, the drying up of the last lot of money and some design adjustments [necessary to comply], meaning I need another order.

Hopefully, within days I’ll be able to get back to it and get it finished.

In the pic above, ignore the hull, as mine is straight-sided and at its widest underwater. The point of the pic is the rig. If you can imagine the three masts in the pic a bit further forward and three identical sails of that type, [called a standing lug], then that is how it will be on shorter masts than you see here. Forget that little sail above – the masts are short.

These lug sails can be attached at the lower front corner [the tack] to the mast or boom or can be made free and brought round to the side rail on the edge [the gunwhale] and then the sail acts as a square rigger.

So, imagine a square sail with the top diagonal instead of square, the tack is attached to the mast below and the yard at the top leans forward almost as you see but more upright. That’s the simple rig. And the rig determines mast position and that determines cabins below, front deck and cockpit aft. They’ve all been built so conversely, the rig cannot now change.

Sorted a double rail system above and that will let me finish the deck in a week [weather permitting]. Once that’s done, it doesn’t matter what the weather does.

So it is going ahead. Pics will be coming.

4 responses to “Build report

  1. There are many things I don’t understand (about this fascinating build project, leaving aside everything else I don’t understand meantime…), but mainly how you find the time and where you found the money, since just a few months ago I think you were reporting on the blog that your funds were at zero (but maybe that was because you had already bought the wood and sails and masts and engine and seats and toilet and machinery for the boat). Or… Did you win the lottery? No need to respond of course. No wish to pry. I am just scratching my head and wondering . A technical question puzzles me too, and that you may wish to answer – will that plywood structure in your previous photo eventually be covered in fibre-glass? I am sure we all await more photos with fascination, and especially when the vessel is all finished and afloat. Is there a provisional launch date in mind? Oh… and have you built boats before? I would struggle to build a garden seat so your courage and enterprise is hugely admired by me.

  2. I am waiting with baited breath for the pictures 😉

  3. Furor and Cherie – thanks.

    Andrew, good questions. There are things called annuities and so on which become due. Either they’re kept for the rainy day or a project of building is instituted on the grounds that I’ll soon be in debt in this flat [gas heating etc.] and would blow that annuity within two years at current rates [even living austerely] or else I build a boat right now before the money disappears to live on and though it blows the money, it leaves me with a home at a very low price, mobile too.

    Danger of loss too but life is not meant to be easy.

    When the yard space became available at a low cost, it became a no-brainer, as they say.

    As for building, my father built, I learnt, I’m reasonably accurate with my hands and do think through what I do, a bit slowly these days, I have a nautical brain in that I understand boats and why they float, tip, yaw, pitch etc.but having said that, anyone with a brain or perhaps an instinct can do this, particularly my designs which are meant for simplicity, if not beauty.

    An example is the sides which are just pieces of 8 x 4 half inch hardwood ply. The bottom is a concertinaed [?] series of 8 x 2. This is bound by carcassing timber 100mm x 47mm , the rest is the screwing and gluing, with glass webbing. Slow, but anyone could do it as I say, with patience. I’d also surmise that if you’d followed instructions with the glue to the letter, it would be a good seal and would float.

    There are also fabulous sailing forums around which give sound advice and rules of thumb.

    As for pics, I’m ashamed to say that any pic now would not show the project much further than last time. For example, last photo showed the sides and windown holes – they’re still there but inside, the gluing is far more extensive, uprights and trim is in which wasn’t before. These sorts of things do not show “progress” but they are. When the outer fabric is moving on, I’ll take more pics.

    And yes, bottom and sides are all glassmeshed with pigment in the glue, over the already glassmeshed and glued joinery. Then ribs are glued in inside and outside running gunwhales.

    As for design, I’d say the hull is bizarre but does have reasonably “boaty” lines at each end, cockpit, foredeck etc. and the rig is as you see in the pic in this post – it is a classic boat rather than modern. You’d laugh at the sail systems – four rails with belaying pins controlling all, just as on the sailing ships of yore.

    Thanks to all who are taking an interest. I’ll provide pics asap.