Bloody Blogger!

Now this is what I’ve been going on about. Sorry to pick on Mark from Mayenne here but it’s a perfect example.

Mark is a fine chap whose primary concern is the gite he’s running in northern France. That means mucho maintenance work. He has a computer tucked away somewhere and a blog about doings around the gite and other matters.

Fine so far. Naturally, there is little time to keep rechecking the blog for comments, being out there ‘n all and so, naturally, he switches on captcha or it’s even defaulted that way.

Simples.

OK, here’s what Mark has just unknowingly inflicted on his readers:

blogger outrageous captcha

It’s not his fault – he feels he needs protection and that’s the protection Blogger offers. He can afford neither the time nor the money to be running a pay website, so Blogger is it.

I filled in the bloody captcha and noted, in clicking out, the following, which took its place. Have a good look at the number on the right and the faded left digit. Now what sort of thing is that to lay on an unsuspecting reader?

blogger outrageous captcha 2

Clever people will, of course, say that Blogger doesn’t need that number – just the pic, so any number would do but there’s still that first one to fill in.

The bottom line, IMHO, is that this detracts from the reading experience big time and so, when you have five minutes to zoom around the blogs – yes I know there’s always more than five minutes but we’re talking perceptions and priorities here – then this is a negative for readers. The reader is more inclined to go where the blogger does not do this, intending to come back here later … but never does as other things swing in to take up time.

One really needs to bear the reader in mind, methinks, when running a blog.

OK, some have been telling me that WordPressdotcom also make the experience bad for readers wishing to comment and most readers are busy people who couldn’t be bothered wasting time signing up and handing over private details. Now I didn’t do this – this is WordPress’s doing.

From my own personal POV, the editing is WP system with embellishments and the embellishments are good. So I’m right chuffed about it all and wondering why my traffic has dropped to about half or even less. It’s quite simple. Apart from many people on whose blogrolls I was, now not coming in or else coming in, seeing NO.com is not there and then clicking out, there is this provider factor and the user-unfriendly systems they have in place.

Mine [current] host tells me that when he temporarily loaded the site again, about a hundred people hit it in a short space and as it allows 20 processes, not 100, it did not like it. This is always going to be a problem for anyone taking on NO – the number of processes at one time, let alone the 100MB XML file.

So, it seems people will go to NO.com but not NOWP.com. This is the nature of the visiting “beast”, so to speak.

Perhaps someone can tell me if they’re having bother with WPdotcom [free WP] where they are now.

8 responses to “Bloody Blogger!

  1. How many of those processes are visitors and how many are scripts? Hard to tell.

  2. I had some problems getting your wordpress site, but I have it now.

    You’re right about the captcha thing; I don’t like it either, but it’s the only thing Blogger offers. I personally usually find the numbers easier than than the words, but that leading 6 is sneaky.

    M

  3. I have mentioned before that you can completely ignore the picture. You only have to type the numbers that are not in the picture.

    I did think though that if comment moderation was on you didn’t have to have the Captcha on as well?

  4. Wolfie – yes, hard to tell.

    Mark – moderation is better from my point of view.

    Cherry – yes you did.

  5. I moderate the comments anyway, I’ll have a go at removing the captcha.

  6. I’d be sceptical about your site visit counts, unless you can see they are real visitors, many if not most site visits these days seem to be by robotic programs, sometimes disguised, that can visit for their own nefarious purposes (often it seems to encourage an unsuspecting blogger to click on them when examining visits). I sometimes get thousands of visits logged, but they are by robotic programs that read nothing.

  7. So you have your supplier definitely pulling your chain and limiting your bandwidth as well.

    On my test server I have a wordpress site that has a 520MB XML basic file that runs without any problems and I’ve let loose the equivalent of 230 simultaneous hits on that site as a test again without any problems.

    This site, with some modifications, will be copied over to its eventual home in a hotel for the use of their customers, hence my testing.

    As for the blogger captcha, when I encounter one I generally leave the site never to return.

  8. Yep – actually, the issue is sorted. Same time frame we said but semi-professional. More soon.