Gutter blogging on Britain’s worst towns

You just gotta smile.   Least attractive towns at the Independent:

Slough, Birmingham, Scunthorpe

And then readers added:

Wallasey, High Wycombe, Milton Keynes, Edinburgh, York, Blackpool, Bradford, Hamilton, Maidenhead

Other lists had:

Stoke-on-Trent, Nuneaton, perennial favourite Coventry, Southampton, Chipping Norton, obviously cesspit London, today’s Morecambe

Of course, all towns have their good pockets except Birmingham and their bad.    Oh yes – what about Hull?

On the good side, well, there must be hundreds of little Micklethwaites around the UK, all nice in their own way.   Doesn’t need to be a large town.     Even where I live is nice but it’s a pocket and there are other pockets where you wouldn’t want to be, e.g. the estates with the USSR housing.

C-stoke_2694573k

12 responses to “Gutter blogging on Britain’s worst towns

  1. ‘Ull. The last place in which I live in England. Cuventray, the first. No wonder I left.

  2. Wallasey??

    I did not find it the worst of places. Of course, the last time I was there was over 25 years ago, so…

    They need to try looking at Egremont in CUMBRIA! (NOT Wallasey, you ‘orrible shower!) Or Crawford on the A47.(M)

  3. York is a lovely town. A strange choice for the list!

  4. And this link is for Amfortas (a blog I recently stumbled across):

    http://lolfrompasa.blogspot.co.uk/

  5. Some great snaps there Cherie. I remember well the occasional flooding of the river next to the golf course at Copsewood. It was just behind my childhood home. Many are the golf-balls I fished out of there with a bit of wire affixed to a long bamboo shaft, selling them back to golfers for sixpence a time. Most of the time the river was slow and small and easy. My playground.

    And the little villages around Coventry. Wonderful. I spent much of most school days ( the sunny ones, that is) riding my bike around Warwickshire instead of being in class. The bike was funded by golf balls.

    As for Coventry itself, as the saying goes…. what the Luftwaffe started, the Coventry City Council finished.

  6. I thought you might like them, I enjoyed the memories you shared 🙂

    As for Coventry itself, as the saying goes…. what the Luftwaffe started, the Coventry City Council finished.

    I think the same could be said of a lot of city centres. The only reason for visiting them (apart from business) is the history, museums, architecture, art etc.

    Or the nightlife for those who is into that kind of thing…

    • XX As for Coventry itself, as the saying goes…. what the Luftwaffe started, the Coventry City Council finished.XX

      You are not alone. What the town planners did to what was left of old Berlin was 100 times worse than what the Brits/Yanks/Russkies EVER managed.

  7. Oops!! ‘those who are’ into that kind of thing

  8. Edinburgh? Worst?

    May I propose London?

    The place was a real mess last time I visited.

  9. Oh… I should have said “second” London, as I see someone did propose it. However I am surprised Cumbernauld is not in there. Maybe just not known well enough.